# History of North Dakota High School Basketball Tournament Structure

From 1914 to 1932 all North Dakota High School Activities Association member high schools played basketball under a single classification. Some small schools played in the State Tournament under that format and three of them won state titles: Tower City in 1915, Michigan in 1917, and Petersburg in 1919.

In 1922, a number of schools from small towns organized the Consolidated League for the purpose of competing for a state championship with schools of similar enrollments. This league continued to operate through 1950.

In 1933, the schools still competing under the sponsorship of the NDHSAA were divided up into Class A and Class B and, in 1948, the Class C division was created by the NDHSAA. The Consolidated League joined the Class C in 1950 and that combined organization remained in operation through 1963. At the present time all high school basketball teams compete in either Class B or Class A.

#### **SUMMARY**

- 1914–4 Team State Tournament for all high school teams. 4 Regional Champs went to State
- 1920–8 Team State Tournament for all high school teams, 8 Regional Champs went to State (Teams from smaller towns did compete in the state tournament playoffs)
- 1922-1950-Consolidated League playoffs. Held District, Regional and State Tournaments
- 1933-present-State A and State B playoffs began. Held separate District and Regional and State T ournaments.
- 1948-1963–Class C organized by NDHSAA. Held District, Regional and State Tournaments
- 1951-1963-Class C combined with Consolidated League, Held District, Region and State Tournaments.

## NORTH DAKOTA CONSOLIDATED LEAGUE AND CLASS C BASKETBALL HISTORY

The following research of North Dakota small school basketball tournaments was compiled by Bob Schaible of Bismarck. He gathered information from the microfilm of the Bismarck Tribune, Minot Daily News, Jamestown Sun and Valley City Times Record as found at the State Historical Society in Bismarck. Schaible was a member of the 1961 State Class B Champion Mott Cardinals.

1922-1950 Consolidated League The champions for each year are listed first and in bold type. The remaining teams have been put in at random and are not necessarily listed as they placed in the tournament.

- 1922 Hebron, Balfour, Erik, (York)
- 1923 Hazen, Leonard, York, Coleharbor, Niagara, Carson, Goodrich, Munich
- 1924 Oberson, Plaza, Cathay, Regent, Hazen, Ambrose, Goodrich, Aliceton
- 1925 Baldwin, Carson, Oberon, Lankin, Halliday, Goodrich, Balfour, Munich
- 1926 Leonard, Colgan, Balfour, Halliday, Goodrich, Flasher, Millarton, McHenry, Hansboro
- 1927 Deering, Baldwin, Halliday, Goodrich, Brocket, Flasher, Ross, Hazelton
- 1928 Lankin, Baldwin, Hazen, Elgin, Pingree, Deering, Goodrich, Van Hook
- 1929 Lankin, Ft. Yates, Deering, Svea, Gardner, Halliday, Oberon, Alamo
- 1930 Lankin, Killdeer, Arthur, Ft. Yates, Maxbass, Van Hook, Tuttle, Goodrich
- 1931 Lankin, Mapleton, Coleharbor, Isabel, Selfridge, Hamlet, Dodge, Brantford

## 1932 Munich, Tuttle, Hamlet, Grandin, Brinsmade, Ambrose, Lehr, Eckelson, Hazen

- 1933 Lankin, Ft. Yates, Grandin, Brinsmade, Ambrose, Lehr, Eckelson, Hazen
- 1934 Grandin, Hannah, Nome, Medina, Zahl, Tokio, Beulah
- 1935 Grand Prairie, Goodrich, Ft. Yates, Grandin, Hannah, Van Hook, Taylor, Adams
- 1936 Eldridge, Zahl, Kindred, Ft. Yates, Tokio, Halliday, Arthur, Munich
- 1937 Tokio, Des Lacs, Grand Prairie, Amenia, Courtney, Lehr, Lankin, Beulah
- 1938 Grand Prairie, Des Lacs, Sanish, Lankin, Ft. Yates, Amenia, Werner, Tuttle
- 1939 Munich, Dunn Center, Ayr, Kloten, Balfour, Hamlet, Eldridge
- 1940 Eldridge, Lankin, Arthur, Streeter, Foxholm, Gladstone, Leonard, Munich
- 1941 Sharon, West Fargo, Marion, Alsen, Gladstone, Calvin, Marion, Streeter
- 1942 Luverne, Davenport, Hensel, Max, Gladstone, Calvin, Marion, Streeter
- 1943 Arthur, Des Lacs, Sharon, Marion, Dawson, Hague, Calvin, Noltimeier
- 1944 West Fargo, Makoti, Amenia, Tappen, Calvin, Wimbledon, Hague, Pekin
- 1945 Fingal, Bowdon, Makoti, Hague, Willow City, Dazey, Arthur, Sharon
- 1946 Sharon, Rogers, Karlsruhe, Robinson, Leonard, Westhope, Calvin, Arthur
- 1947 Arthur, Churchs Ferry, Fingal, Luverne, Bowdon, Litchville, Van Hook
- 1948 Noltimeier, Churchs Ferry, Buxton, Robinson, Newburg, Rogers, Karlsruhe, Medina
- 1949 Churches Ferry, Sharon, Fullerton, Amenia, Robinson, Makoti, Wheatland, Westhope
- 1950 Hope, Amenia, Makoti, Webster, Sykeston, Wimbledon, Mapleton,

#### Tuttle

- 1948-Class C Tourney Organized. Separate tournaments were held from 1948-1950
- 1948 Carpio, Sheldon, Cathay, Alexander, Aneta, Scranton, Starkweather, Zap
- 1949 Alexander, Sheldon, Zap, Columbus, Marion, Reeder, St. John, Petersburg
- 1950 Columbus, Westhope, Aneta, Grenora, Kensal, Scranton, Kindred, Zap
- 1951-1963-Class C Championships (Combined with Consolidated League) 1951 Wildrose, Edinburg, Kensal, Litchville, Upham, Arthur, Bowden, Zap
- 1952 Butte, Jud, Bowden, Arthur, Arnegard, Ft. Totten, South Heart, Lawton
- 1953 Willow City, Kindred, Powers Lake, Bowden, Page, Ft. Totten, Edinburg, Rhame
- 1954 Westhope, Osnabrock, Powers Lake, Esmond, Zap, Hope, Leonard, Oriska
- 1955 Osnabrock, Max, Hope, Gackle, Rock Lake, Westhope, Litchville, South Heart
- 1956 Willow City, Abercrombie, Osnabrock, Rogers, Sheyenne, Aneta, Flaxton, Golden Valley
- 1957 Alsen, Taylor, Ft. Totten, Nome, Arthur, Oriska, Portal, Tolley
- 1958 Alsen, Fullerton, Tower City, Reeder, Tuttle, McGregor, Ft. Totten, Berthold
- 1959 Plaza, Buffalo, Osnabrock, Souris, St. Leo's of Linton, Mandaree, Ft. Totten, Nome
- 1960 Crary, Plaza, Newburg, Oriska, Rhame, Arthur, Tower City, Gardar
- 1961 Arnegard, Crary, Kloten, Oriska, Haynes, Butte, Munich, Fullerton
- 1962 Makoti, Crary, Kloten, Regan, Mandaree, Bergen, Clyde, Tower City
- 1963 Mapleton, Fordville, Flaxtømyd Sharon, Oriska, Butte, Mandaree, North Central of Rogers